“Prisoner”

Stuck in my chair

Captured by institution

Fatalistic, about to receive

Academia’s injection

Not here for life

But the better part of it

On auto-pilot ‘til release

I coast, ignorant to the

Outside world, my eyes

Might as well be kept shut

I fall asleep on my bed

Not free here either

I’m a slave to

My mind—it dictates

My dreams, replays

The events passed or

What comes later

Worst case scenarios

Then I wake, my eyes

Tremble, the only thing

Not immune, nor numb

Try to scream a desperate

Utterance, but silent

They dictate Morse code

Nightmare!

No one hears

No one sees

I’m prisoner.

Fall 2009

Leave a Reply

