*Lightbulb* *ding!* IDEA!

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, and that thinking has produced an idea (imagine that?). I’ve been wanting to do a short story (novel, novella, story-in-general, not sure the exact format yet) series on Mr. Brewding–I mentioned that before in a previous post.  Before, I wasn’t quite sure the best way to do this; originally, I thought I may just begin writing it, and post it one day on the internet when it was all finally finished.  I’m not going to do that.

For one, I don’t think I’d actually ever finish if I were to do it that way.  I have a much better idea.

Beginning next Monday, (June 13th, I believe?) I’m going to write the first chapter in the Mr. Brewding stories, then I’ll post it.  The following day, I’ll write the next chapter, and post it.  The idea is that I’ll do this for the next month.  And by July 13th, I’m hoping to have about a 30 chapter story.  I realize that potentially this story could be better if I planned it in its entirety.  If I sat down and mulled over my work, compulsively changing a line here, or a word there, that my writing would be more, perfect.  Mr. Brewding isn’t perfect.

In the spirit of being spontaneously creative (or, creatively spontaneous? hehe…) I want this story to reflect it.  I want it to be fluid.  I want it to be able to change if I need it to, and I want all of you to be able to see it change if need be.

I think I can do a lot of interesting things with this idea.  I like that because of the improvisation of this story, the plot may not be all linear.  I may right a point here in one chapter, and decide in the next chapter something happened before it that I want to reveal or add upon.  It may be difficult to follow, but I’m not doing this for the sake of confusion.  I want to have continuity, and I want it to be coherent.  So I’m going to do my best to make this story tight, regardless of its complexity–or, simplicity, even.  Who knows?  It isn’t written yet.

I’m not planning on stopping with just writing this story either. I’m thinking about doing an audio-book format, or performance format of the story as well once it’s finally concluded.  Possibly even releasing an economically, umm, reasonable version of the book online for purchase where all the proceeds go to charity.  I’m not looking to make money off of this.  I want to do something creative and different, and I want to share it with everyone–if someone else can benefit in the process then I think that would be great!

Still, this doesn’t stop with me or my story.  I’d like to challenge any writer reading this blog (I hope I may actually have more than one, and that this challenge may bring you out of the shadows), to write and post something each day.  It can be a short story, daily chapters (like what I’m doing), poems, etc.–I don’t really care, just make it creative and make it daily.

If you’re interested, please comment here. I’d like to know who I can subscribe to so I can read your daily creativity as well.

I truly believe this is a great idea, and I hope others are out there reading this and are willing to participate.  If you do decide to participate, or know some one else who would like to, please spread the word.  I want to make this as big of an event as possible.

Cheers and stuff!

-B

One response to “*Lightbulb* *ding!* IDEA!

  1. Whooo! Love the idea! I will totally take the challenge…it’ll definitely be a challenge….I am out of town most of this month! But I will try to make it everyday. 🙂 I really love your idea! I think that it’s a great way to get rid of writer’s block as well as getting some really great ideas flowing. I really hope a lot of people take you up on your challenge.:) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

