UPDATE: Unmasked! *gasp*

My name’s Ethan Guberman.  Around March of this year I began testing the waters, introducing my poetry to the public by assuming the masked identity of Mr. Brewding.  It was definitely an interesting process–one that finally gave me the confidence to post, now, under my true identity.

So why am I doing this now? I’m not sure if I know the exact answer at the moment.  I do know that the process of writing “Our Friend Mr. Brewding” so far has helped me learn a lot about myself.  One of the things I’ve discovered, I can’t expect to keep writing, keep maturing as a writer, and keep developing Mr. Brewding as a character without realizing that Mr. Brewding and I are very different–I promise, I’m not trying to play this up as some daring epic straight from Jekyl and Mr. Hyde–and I promise, I don’t struggle with multiple personalities.  If you’ve read the chapters posted for this series so far, you’d see what I’m talking about.

That all being said, Mr. Brewding isn’t done.  I may not be him anymore, but I’m still planning on keeping him around–just merely fictitious, like he should be.  That also being said, I think you’re all in for a surprise if you think the way you know Mr. Brewding in his series isn’t going to change–his development is far from done.

As for changing the name of the site, that’s still something I’m playing around with.  If I wasn’t going to ‘be’ Mr. Brewding anymore, I figured it was appropriate for that name to change for the site as well.  I’d already anticipated this change and thought of the name ‘WordPlay’–domain wise, that was taken.  I started then to like the idea of ‘WordPlay’d’ which is somewhat of a wordplay in itself.  I don’t like this name as much as the previous one, especially since sometimes these types of names are taken less in a light, witty way and more in an obnoxious, pretentious way, but I’m happy to keep it around for the time being.

So, where are the rest of the daily chapters for the series?  They’ll be here, I promise.  The last few days have been kinda crazy and the fact that I’m finding time to blog at the moment is sort of a miracle.  I promise that when I do post chapters, it’ll be ‘chapters’ with an ‘s’–multiple chapters to make up for the multiple days chapters have been absent.

I truly hope this unveiling, if you will, doesn’t disenchant or disillusion the charm or appeal of my site–I don’t think it should, but you never know, if the mask was all the unique I had going for me, I may be in trouble.  All this aside, I’m really excited to be posting now as myself–it feels so pure, more me.  Duh!

For my readers out there, I’d like to thank you for continuing to read my poetry and prose, unencumbered by the knowledge that it was written by a creepy insomniac with a mask.  I hope you continue to stick around now that that mask is gone.  My face may have changed, but my words won’t.

So for now, I hope you all join me in this new journey.  I’m really excited!

Peace to everyone,

Ethan

P.S. The pic kinda sucks, but give me a break, I suck at taking pictures! haha!

Leave a Reply

